Not to those who have no choice or are unfortunately too lowly paid to consider any options
But to those who are already in their late 40s and well established and have enjoyed high income for at least 15years.
What drives you?
Are you looking for a way to stop working and smell life?
Everyone puts on a mask.
“I enjoy building this!”
“I love my team mates”
“Can’t wait to embark on this journey with company ABC!”
All these masked posts in LinkedIn, FB etc. really?
You celebrate your freedom or loss of freedom?
I do that too myself. We put a mask on to hide our dissatisfaction and to endure things. So that we can give a finger later.
When will that be?
Will it be too late? Or perhaps never come and we get the finger by the company instead when we are too old, too sick, too slow?
If you are like me, awaken since witnessing the first team reorganization and layoffs? And started building a life towards not working for decades and decade and being a slave, good for you! Wish you success and you better wish me too lol
To those not, please take time to think and plan. That extra hour put in, that time lost that made you miss a family gathering, a birthday, a school play. They are irreplaceable. Irreversible. They are a black mark. Permanent ink. Think of your loved ones. Those who look at you and wonder “when is it enough? How much more work do you want to do? Why can’t you slow down? I don’t need more fancy presents, I want your attention.”
I am fucking lucky in my career. I was already enjoying remote work and work from home when my first child was born. I was there at home everyday from the day she was brought into this world. I cuddle her every day. I witnessed all her milestones. I am there when she gets off the bus. To listen to her stories of her time spent. To endure her tantrums. And then second kid comes. I am fully 100% WFH. Same deal for this kid. Daddy is always at home. They have no experience of seeing me go office except when I have to travel to HQ for team meetings. They just know I will be around. I am so lucky to experience this. It’s unique and not every working dad here can do that. Well, some actually told me the prefer to go work in office. Really? Really? Well good luck to you. You are spending hours toiling while your boss goes home early for family time. Think about that.
And now, I think I have sufficient resources to let my kids have a good education wherever they want and whatever they want. I don’t spoil them, but I’ll support their hardwork. And that I am grateful for. To have resources.
And not just to provide for my dependents, but to also ensure I can deal with my retirement and my wife’s without burdening my adult kids.
This will be my ultimate legacy.
And I hope my kids will do same for theirs if they start a family. No more sandwich class. No more lifetime of hardwork and regrets. More time to listen to music, read books, enjoy good company. Good coffee and good food. And be a good person in general.
So, when should I retire? Let me think ….
Comments
Post a Comment